Who We Are

Northland Shepherd's Center is a non-profit agency with IRS 501(C)(3) designation.  We are funded through grants, individual & business donations, 60 supporting faith-based organizations, United Way, & fund raising events.  We also have an Endowment Fund which will give us financial stability for long term operations and expansion.  Our office acts as a clearinghouse to unite older adults with services & agencies in our community.


Northland Shepherd’s Center (NSC) is celebrating 27 years of providing meaning and purpose for adults (60-plus).  The Shepherd’s Center concept originated in 1974 in Kansas City, MO, when Rev. Dr. Elbert C. Cole formed a coalition of civic leaders to consider “aging in America.”  Rev. Cole saw the mature years as an opportunity for healthy, concerned adults to engage in educational enrichment, remain active, and use their talents to be involved in their communities. Additionally, active 60-plus adults could volunteer to help the frail older adults. These universal principles — compassion, cooperation and service to others — became the basis for the first “Shepherd’s Center.”  In 1990, five dedicated Kansas City Northland citizens created Shepherd’s Center of the Northland following Dr. Cole’s original concept.



To improve the quality of life for adults (60-plus) helping them thrive in the community and remain in their homes.


NSC Staff

Rebecca Gordon

Executive Director

Terry Tipton

Program Director

Brenda Dunn

Volunteer Coordinator

Miranda Wilson, MSW

Benefits & Health Care

Rayetta Hutchison

Transportation Coordinator

Paula Schumacher

NAP Program Manager & Grant Writer

Dale Hill



Cindy Holm

Break Time Coordinator

Tammy Miller

Learning & Laughter Coordinator

Peggy Knernschield

Break Time Assistant

Diana Balthasar

Break Time Assistant

Kevin Phillips
Director of Healthy Lifestyle Program

Dianna Englander

Benefits Specialist &

Health Advocate

NSC Board of Trustees


Board Members: Dr. Gary Carter, Linda Craigie, Paul Finn, Reta Gaebler, Mallory Latta, Josephine LoGiudice, Laura Rainey, Mary Reichert, Alicia Scott, & Glen Smith

Dr. James Stewart President

Dennis Whitty


Lena Hogan


Yvonne Seckington


Luke Gordon

NSC Partners & Sponsors

Click for a complete list of our Sponsors >>