Who We Are

Northland Shepherd’s Center is a non-profit agency with 501(C)(3) designation. We are funded through grants, individual, and business donations, 60 supporting faith-based organizations, United Way, & fund raising events. We also have an Endowment Fund which will give us financial stability for long term operations and expansion. Our office acts as a clearing house to unite older adults to services and agencies


Northland Shepherd’s Center (NSC) is celebrating 29 years of providing meaning and purpose for adults (60-plus) in Clay and Platte counties. The Shepherd’s Center concept originated in 1974 in Kansas City, MO, when Rev. Dr. Elbert C. Cole formed a coalition of civic leaders to consider “aging in America.” Rev. Cole saw the mature years as an opportunity for healthy, concerned adults to engage in educational enrichment in their communities. Additionally, active 60-plus adults could volunteer to help the frail older adults. These universal principles – compassion, cooperation, and service to others – became the basis for the first “Shepherd’s Center.” In 1990, five dedicated Kansas City Northland citizens created Shepherd’s Center of the Northland following Dr. Cole’s original concept.


To improve the quality of life for adults (60-plus) helping them thrive in the community and remain in their homes.

NSC Staff

Carmen Liimatta
Executive Director
Dale Hill
Administrative Assistant
Terry Tipton
Programs and Client Services Director
Rayetta Hutchison
Administrative Assistant and Transportation Coordinator
Patty Monaco
Volunteer Coordinator
Terry Jean (TJ) Cain
Receptionist and Resource Desk
Dianna Englander, MPH
Community Aging Specialist
Kelley Creek
Community Aging Specialist
Christina Allen
Technology Coordinator
Chanel Kemp
Aging with Excellence Coordinator
Tammy Miller
Learning & Laughter Coordinator
Cindy Holm
Break Time Coordinator
Jeremiah Creek
Building Maintenance
Michelle Bond
Meals on Wheels Coordinator
Tina Middleton
Meals on Wheels Assistant
Tom Bricker
Bus Driver
Darrell Vinson
Bus Driver

NSC Board of Trustees

  • Melanie Beard, President
  • Bonnie Smith, Vice President
  • Yvonne Seckington, Secretary
  • Linda Craigie, Asst. Secretary
  • Mark Latshaw, Treasurer
  • Glen Smith, Asst. Treasurer

Board Members: Dr. John Burroughs, Adele Ducharme, Darla Easley, Reta Gaebler, Dr. Bruce Kauk, Verda Hyland, Mark McAuliffe, Laura Rainey, Karma Vowell

Thank you to our Donors & Sponsors!

Please consider donating to change the life of a senior.