Who We Are

Northland Shepherd’s Center is a non-profit agency with 501(C)(3) designation. We are funded through grants, individual, and business donations, 60 supporting faith-based organizations, United Way, & fundraising events. We also have an Endowment Fund which provides financial stability for long-term operations and expansion. Our office acts as a clearinghouse to unite older adults with services and agencies in our community.


Northland Shepherd’s Center (NSC) is celebrating 33 years of providing meaning and purpose for adults (60-plus).

The original Shepherd’s Center concept originated in 1974 in Kansas City, MO, when Rev. Dr. Elbert C. Cole formed a coalition of civic leaders to consider “aging in America.” Rev. Cole saw the mature years as an opportunity for healthy, concerned adults to engage in educational enrichment in their communities.

Additionally, active 60-plus adults could volunteer to help the frail older adults. These universal principles – compassion, cooperation, and service to others – became the basis for the first “Shepherd’s Center.” In 1990, five dedicated Kansas City Northland citizens created Shepherd’s Center of the Northland following Dr. Cole’s original concept.


To improve the quality of life for adults (60-plus), helping them thrive in the community and remain in their homes.

NSC Staff

Todd Hess
Executive Director
Kelley Creek
Director of Programs/Services
Patty Monaco
Executive Assistant
Rayetta Hutchison
Administrative Assistant and Transportation Coordinator
Christina Allen
Technology Coordinator
Chanel Kemp
Aging with Excellence Coordinator
Dianna Englander, MPH
Community Aging Specialist
Jeremiah Creek
Building Maintenance
Michelle Bond
Meals on Wheels Coordinator
Darrell Vinson
Bus Driver
Karma Vowell
Development Coordinator
Angela Curtis
Aging Resource Specialist
Charli Seitz
Caregiver Support Coordinator
Jana Stratman
Robin Hawkins
Break Time Coordinator
Laurie Davenport
Volunteer Coordinator
Susan Olson
Meals on Wheels Asst. Coordinator
Leia Barrett
Marketing and Fund Development Coordinator
Scott Wingerson
Pantry Manager

NSC Board of Directors

Melanie Beard, President
Reta Gaebler, Vice-President
Bonnie Smith, Secretary
Dr. John Burroughs, Assistant Secretary
Nancy Frazee, Treasurer
Jana Longwith, Assistant Treasurer
Todd Hess, Executive Director
Cherryh Cansler
Darla Easley
Dr. Bruce Kauk
Mark Latshaw
Patt Papenfuhs
Dr. James Stewart